Revival of Saraswarti River |Digital India Week Haryana

     THE DISTRICT YAMUNANAGAR came into existence as District on Ist November, 1989. Its area is bounded with 1756 square kilometers, in which 441 Panchayats, 655 Villages, 4 Tehsils ( Jagadhri, Chhachhrauli, Bilaspur, Radaur ) and 2 Sub-Tehsils ( Sadhaura, Mustafabad) are existed. Earlier The District Yamunanagar was known to Abdullapur. Large part of the District Yamunanagar come into the Shiwalik foothills. Sugarcane, wheat and rice are its main crops and being good potency and fertility the farmers are also used to seed puplar tress. The Industrial Environment is praiseable and It is an important Industrial City having metal, utensil and plywood industries blessed with Shri Gopal Paper Mills and Saraswati Sugar Mills (biggest Sugar mill in Asia).
    Yamuna Nagar district is bounded by the state of Himachal Pardaesh in the north 30° 17' latitude, by the state of Utter Pardesh in the east and south east by the districts of Karnal and Kurukshetra in the south north by Ambala District in the east. Yamunanagar District located at height of 274 mt. from the sea level. The district is located in Topo shet No. 53/F,2,3,4,7,8,11 and 12 of Survey of India.

At a Glance :

                   >> Location Yamunanagar is 106 Kms from Chandigarh.
                   >> Linking Roads : Situated on the National Highway No. 73

Postal Code: 135001 | Longitude: 77018'E | Latitude: 3007'N | Area: 1756 sq. km
Altitude : 255 m | Population: 1,214,162 (Census 2011) | Literacy Rate: 78.90 %  
STD Code: 01732 | Panchayats: 441 | Villages : 655 |  Language: Hindi, English
Best season to visit : All seasons to visit.


Contents Provided By : District Administration, YamunaNagar.
Developed & Maintained by National Informatics Centre, District Unit, Yamuna Nagar.
Disclaimer : NIC does not take responsibility of contents and information.